Heart-Healthy Vegan Walnut Cookies

Happy Wednesday everyone! Boy, do I have a treat for you today! Listen.. I’m a sucker for desserts – you can ask my family or my boyfriend. They all understand my love for sweets. I love cookies, cake, muffins, YOU NAME IT. Because I truly enjoy eating healthy and feeding my body natural foods, I limit my intake of processed foods. When I make baked goods, I like to keep it as natural as I can while of course making it delicious. Since I am a vegetarian, I usually aim for vegan desserts (since I don’t eat egg either).

Yesterday, I made these delicious beauties and felt that the whole world should vegetarianmarkknow about them – which is exactly why I’m here to share the recipe with you! They are  VEGAN and absolutely delicious. The original recipe is from Detoxinista. I wanted to share a recipe that was extremely simple to make. 7 ingredients is all it takes. Yes, you read that right. SEVENINGREDIENTS. That’s it. The only ingredients in these cookies are walnuts, medjool dates, flaxseed, vanilla extract, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. THAT’S IT. Trust me ladies and gentlemen, you’ll love these simple cookies – so much, that you’ll even forget that they’re vegan AND good for you!

If you try these out, let me know what you think! Tag me on Instagram @kathieariasfit and add #ForeverFitBites –  I’d love to see your remakes or hear of any modifications you made! Enjoy!

Health benefits of ingredients:img_6512

Walnuts

  • These delicious nuts contain omega-3 fats, copper, manganese, magnesium, iron, phosphorus, and Vitamin B6, making them dense in nutrients. The beauty of walnuts is that they contain protein, fiber, and also fats that are heart-healthy. Research has shown that they “decrease LDL (harmful) cholesterol and triglyceride levels, in turn reducing the risk of cardiovascular disease, stroke, and heart attack.”
  • If you’re looking to lose weight, nuts have also been shown to aid in weight loss. However, please keep in mind that nuts must be eaten in moderation due to being high in calories (but don’t let that scare you!)
  • Because they contain copper, this can help reduce the risk of osteoporosis, which can be caused by a deficiency in copper. Stronger bones? I’ll take it!

Medjool Dates

Flaxseed

Heart Healthy Vegan Walnut Cookies

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A healthy and vegan snack to satisfy your cravings.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups raw walnut halves
  • 1 cup pitted medjool dates
  • 1 flax egg (1 tablespoon ground flax + 3 tablespoon water)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (I used Pink Himalayan Salt, but any salt should do)
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. In a food processor, process dates and walnuts until a crumbly texture is formed
  3. In the same food processor, add in flax egg, vanilla extract, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon until the batter is smooth.
  4. Remove batter from food processor and begin forming the cookies. Take parts of the batter and use your hands to form them into balls and flatten. *Doing this step with wet hands helps prevent the cookie dough from sticking!
  5. Bake at 350F for 12-13 minutes (edges should be slightly golden)
  6. Remove from oven and cool down for 10-15 minutes.
  7. Serve immediately or place them in a tightly sealed container in the refrigerator or freezer.

Nutrition Per Cookie –  Carbs: 7 grams | Fat: 9 grams | Protein: 2 grams | Total Calories: 112


Vegetarian Mark Photo: European Vegetarian Union

 

2 thoughts on “Heart-Healthy Vegan Walnut Cookies

Leave a Reply

